The Eight Stages Of Genocide

Dr. Greg Stanton, founder and president of Genocide Watch, and president of the International Association of Genocide Scholars, created the Eight Stages of Genocide to provide a methodical analysis to predict and prevent genocides. The Eight Stages of Genocide are:

1. Classification
2. Symbolization
3. Dehumanization
4. Organization
5. Polarization
6. Preparation
7. Extermination
8. Denial

In this video, Dr. Stanton provides a summary of the Eight Stages of Genocide, and then applies this theory to the genocide in Darfur.